Our Story

Bronx Prep is Democracy Prep’s first New York campus outside of Harlem. Over its nearly 14 years of operation, Bronx Prep Charter School has developed a reputation as a widely respected institution serving a high-needs pocket of New York City. Concerned that it was not doing all it could to prepare underserved middle and high school students for higher education, community involvement, and lifelong success through a structured environment of high expectations, the Bronx Prep Board of Trustees chose Democracy Prep to manage the school for the 2014-15 school year and has continued managing through the 2018-2019 year.

PRINCIPAL
Lourdes Flores

ASSISTANT PRINCIPALS
Cassius Gil
Sharifa Powell

GRADES SERVED

9 – 12

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
450 Scholars

 

The DREAM Team

Lourdes Flores

Principal

lourdes.flores@democracyprep.org

Cassius Gil

Assistant Principal

cassius.gil@democracyprep.org

Sharifa Powell

Assistant Principal

sharifa.powell@democracyprep.org

Jogene Castillo

Literature I

Jogene.Castillo@democracyprep.org

Meredith Brown

Literature ll

Meredith.Brown@democracyprep.org

Eun Jung Kim

Korean I

eunjung.kim@democracyprep.org

Kevin Aaron

Global History I

kevin.aaron@democracyprep.org

Nancy Martinez

Algebra II

Nancy.Martinez@democracyprep.org

Stormy Harding

Precalculus/Calculus

stormy.harding@democracy.org

Ellen Choi

Korean II

ellen.choi@democracyprep.org

Jimin Lim

Korean III

jimin.lim@democracyprep.org

Christine Cunningham

Literature I

Christine.Cunningham@democracyprep.org

Dexter White

Literature II

Dexter.White@democracyprep.org

Joshua Elguera

Literature III

joshua.elguera@democracyprep.org

Nathan Ward

American Literature

nathan.ward@democracyprep.org

Donna Paolucci

Spanish/ELL Teacher

donna.paolucci@democracyprep.org

Mehdi Boughalbi

ELL Teacher

mehdi.boughalbi@democracyprep.org

Veenu Suri

Physics

veenu.suri@democracyprep.org

Matthew Bohack

Global History II

Matthew.Bohack@democracyprep.org

Cristal Reyes

US History

cristal.reyes@democracyprep.org

Derek Ntiamoah

Biology l

derek.ntiamoah@democracyprep.org

Kelly Burke

Chemistry

kelly.burke@democracyprep.org

Jude Hollins

Seminar in American Democracy

jude.hollins@democracyprep.org

Marielle Colucci

Government & Sociology

marielle.colucci@democracyprep.org

Norberto Troncoso

Theatre Arts

Norberto.troncoso@democracyprep.org

Howard Mitchell

Physical Education I/II

howard.mitchell@democracyprep.org

Charles Corneilson

DREAM Coach

Charles.Corneilson@democracyprep.org

Sakeyah Bell

DREAM Coach

Sakeyah.Bell@democracyprep.org

Isolene Roberts

ACT Coordinator

isolene.roberts@democracyprep.org

Joaquin Colon

Geometry

joaquin.colon@democracyprep.org

Lucy Coplin

Social Worker

lucy.coplin@democracyprep.org

Samontha Joseph

School Counselor

samontha.joseph@democracyprep.org

Natalie Madera

Social Worker

Natalie.Madera@democracyprep.org

Gary Henderson

Senior College Counselor

gary.henderson@democracyprep.org

Melanie Konicoff

College Counselor

Melanie.Konicoff@democracyprep.org

Johanna Rosario

Administrative Manager

johanna.rosario@democracyprep.org

Abraham Dokie

Operations Coordinator

abraham.dokie@democracyprep.org

Yarlin Lopez

Receptionist

yarlin.lopez@democracyprep.org

Nia Pipkin-Glover

Librarian

Nia.pipkinglover@democracyprep.org

Francisco Mercedes

Security Guard

francisco.mercedes@democracyprep.org

Michael Ortiz

Building Manager

michael.ortiz@democracyprep.org

Jose Hernandez Arellano

Facilities Associate

Jose.hernandezarellano@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

Dr. Robert North

Chair, Harlem Hospital

Josh Pristaw

Vice Chair, GTIS Partners

Brian Berger

Treasurer, Glocap Search

Doug Snyder

Vice Chair, Starboard Value, L.P.

Roger Berg

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman

Trevor Gibbons

Prosek Partners

Sean Windsor

BDO USA, LLP

Ken Weiller

Westfield Investment LLC

Alastair Wood

Kindur

Brittany Mullings

Human Resources Business Partner, National Basketball Association

Gregory Weston

Winston & Strawn LLP

Jake Foley III

Khary Barnes

Vice Chair, American Express

Ross Frommer

Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Stephanie King

Columbia University

Farida Ilboudo

Columbia University

  Click to download BPCS Board Meeting Minutes – 2016-17
  Download Annual Report 16-17 

To contact the DPNY Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including upcoming meeting dates, click here.