Our Story

Bronx Prep is Democracy Prep’s first New York campus outside of Harlem. Over its nearly 14 years of operation, Bronx Prep Charter School has developed a reputation as a widely respected institution serving a high-needs pocket of New York City. Concerned that it was not doing all it could to prepare underserved middle and high school students for higher education, community involvement, and lifelong success through a structured environment of high expectations, the Bronx Prep Board of Trustees chose Democracy Prep to manage the school for the 2014-15 school year and has continued managing through the 2018-2019 year.

PRINCIPAL
Lourdes Flores

ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL
Cassius Gil

GRADES SERVED
9 – 12

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
348 Scholars

The DREAM Team

Lourdes Flores

Principal

lourdes.flores@democracyprep.org

Cassius Gil

Assistant Principal

cassius.gil@democracyprep.org

Dynalee Marrero

Algebra I

dynalee.marrero@democracyprep.org

Nicole Piccini

Writing I

nicole.piccini@democracyprep.org

Eun Jung Kim

Korean

eunjung.kim@democracyprep.org

Meredith Brown

Literature I

Meredith.Brown@democracyprep.org

Dennis Ibude

Literature ll

Dennis.Ibude@democracyprep.org

Kevin Aaron

Global History I

kevin.aaron@democracyprep.org

Nancy Martinez

Algebra II

Nancy.Martinez@democracyprep.org

Melissa Clarke

Geometry

melissa.clarke@democracyprep.org

Dexter White

Literature II

Dexter.White@democracyprep.org

Ellen Choi

Korean II

ellen.choi@democracyprep.org

Matthew Bohack

Global History II

Matthew.Bohack@democracyprep.org

Djabir Adam

Chemistry

djabir.adam@democracyprep.org

Joshua Elguera

Literature III

joshua.elguera@democracyprep.org

Jimin Lim

Korean III

jimin.lim@democracyprep.org

Donna Paolucci

Spanish/ELL Teacher

donna.paolucci@democracyprep.org

Veenu Suri

Physics

veenu.suri@democracyprep.org

Cristal Reyes

US History

cristal.reyes@democracyprep.org

Sharifa Powell

PreCalc/AP Calc

sharifa.powell@democracyprep.org

Eileen Morano

Physiology/AP Biology

kevin.aaron@democracyprep.org

Derek Ntiamoah

Biology l

derek.ntiamoah@democracyprep.org

Jude Hollins

Writing IV

jude.hollins@democracyprep.org

Marielle Colucci

Government & Sociology

marielle.colucci@democracyprep.org

Rabi Hartley

Senior Literature

rabi.hartley@democracyprep.org

David Zhan

Physical Education

david.zhan@democracyprep.org

Cecly Placenti

Dance

Cecly.Placenti@democracyprep.org

Christopher Rones

DREAM Coach

christopher.rones@democracyprep.org

Charles Corneilson

DREAM Coach

Charles.Corneilson@democracyprep.org

Shela Kochar

HS Operations Manager

shela.kochar@democracyprep.org

Luis Arroyo

Operations & Technology Associate

luis.arroyo@democracyprep.org

Kassandra Lewis

Data Operations

kassandra.lewis@democracyprep.org

Isolene Roberts

ACT Coordinator

isolene.roberts@democracyprep.org

Dennis Pooler

College Counselor

dennis.pooler@democracyprep.org

Gary Henderson

College Counselor

gary.henderson@democracyprep.org

Samontha Joseph

Guidance Counselor

samontha.joseph@democracyprep.org

Michelle Espinal

Social Worker

michelle.espinal@democracyprep.org

Aleshia Kellman

Registrar

aleshia.kellman@democracyprep.org

Christopher Crespo

Facilities Associate

christopher.crespo@democracyprep.org

Michael Ortiz

Facilities Associate

michael.ortiz@democracyprep.org

Francisco Mercedes

Security Guard

francisco.mercedes@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

  Click to download BPCS Board Meeting Minutes – 2016-17
  Download Annual Report 16-17 

To contact the DPNY Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including upcoming meeting dates, click here.