Our Story

Bronx Prep is Democracy Prep’s first New York campus outside of Harlem. Over its nearly 14 years of operation, Bronx Prep Charter School has developed a reputation as a widely respected institution serving a high-needs pocket of New York City. Concerned that it was not doing all it could to prepare underserved middle and high school students for higher education, community involvement, and lifelong success through a structured environment of high expectations, the Bronx Prep Board of Trustees chose Democracy Prep to manage the school for the 2014-15 school year and has continued managing through the 2018-2019 year.

PRINCIPAL
Cassius Gil

ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL
Sharifa Powell

GRADES SERVED

9 – 12

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
450 Scholars

 

The DREAM Team

Cassius Gil

Principal

cassius.gil@democracyprep.org

Sharifa Powell

Assistant Principal

sharifa.powell@democracyprep.org

Marielle Colucci

Instructional Coach

marielle.colucci@democracyprep.org

Johanna Rosario

Operations Manager

Johanna.Rosario@democracyprep.org

Shaina Cover

Administrative Manager

Shaina.Cover@democracyprep.org

Oscar Chimilio

Operations Coordinator

Oscar.Chimilio@democracyprep.org

Sabrina Eury

Operations Coordinator

Sabrina.Eury@democracyprep.org

Rosemary Colon

Operations Coordinator/ Receptionist

Rosemary.Colon@democracyprep.org

Jogene Castillo

Literature I

jogene.castillo@democracyprep.org

Nanayaa Amponsah

Literature I

Nanayaa.Amponsah@democracyprep.org

Marcus Smith

Literature I

Marcus.Smith@democracyprep.org

Yarlin Lopez

Literature II

yarlin.lopez@democracyprep.org

Meredith Brown

Literature ll

Meredith.Brown@democracyprep.org

Dexter White

Literature III

Dexter.White@democracyprep.org

Nathan Ward

American Literature

Nathan.Ward@democracyprep.org

Eun Jung Kim

Korean I

eunjung.kim@democracyprep.org

Ellen Choi

Korean II

ellen.choi@democracyprep.org

Jimin Lim

Korean III

jimin.lim@democracyprep.org

Fernando Asencio

Algebra I

fernando.asencio@democracyprep.org

Joaquin Colon

Geometry

joaquin.colon@democracyprep.org

Stormy Harding

Precalculus/Calculus

stormy.harding@democracy.org

Donna Paolucci

Spanish/ELL Teacher

donna.paolucci@democracyprep.org

Mehdi Boughalbi

ELL Teacher

mehdi.boughalbi@democracyprep.org

Abu Ahsan

Physics

abu.ahsan@democracyprep.org

Veenu Suri

Physics

veenu.suri@democracyprep.org

Ashley Hunker

ACT History

ashley.hunker@democracyprep.org

Kevin Aaron

Global History I

kevin.aaron@democracyprep.org

Matthew Bohack

Global History II

Matthew.Bohack@democracyprep.org

Cristal Reyes

US History

cristal.reyes@democracyprep.org

Peter da Cruz

Government/Economics

peter.dacruz@democracyprep.org

Joseph Ubaka

Foundations of Science

joseph.ubaka@democracyprep.org

Derek Ntiamoah

Biology l

derek.ntiamoah@democracyprep.org

Kelly Burke

Chemistry

kelly.burke@democracyprep.org

Jude Hollins

Seminar in American Democracy

jude.hollins@democracyprep.org

Norberto Troncoso

Theatre Arts

norberto.troncoso@democracyprep.org

Howard Mitchell

Physical Education I/II

howard.mitchell@democracyprep.org

Alvin Pratt

Physical Education

alvin.pratt@democracyprep.org

Shequana Harris

Health

shequana.harris@democracyprep.org

Charles Corneilson

DREAM Coach

charles.corneilson@democracyprep.org

Abraham Dokie

DREAM Coach

abraham.dokie@democracyprep.org

Sakeyah Bell

DREAM Coach

sakeyah.bell@democracyprep.org

Isolene Roberts

ACT Coordinator

isolene.roberts@democracyprep.org

Samontha Joseph

School Counselor

samontha.joseph@democracyprep.org

Natalie Madera

Social Worker

Natalie.Madera@democracyprep.org

Rita Amaya-Oats

Social Worker

rita.amayaoats@democracyprep.org

Gary Henderson

Senior College Counselor

gary.henderson@democracyprep.org

Melanie Konicoff

College Counselor

Melanie.Konicoff@democracyprep.org

Stephan Green

Teacher-in-Residency

stephan.green@democracyprep.org

Antoine Clyburn

Teacher-in-Residency

antoine.clyburn@democracyprep.org

Sharon Boateng

Teacher-in-Residency

sharon.boateng@democracyprep.org

Francisco Mercedes

Security Guard

francisco.mercedes@democracyprep.org

Julio Duran

Security Guard

julio.duran@democracyprep.org

Michael Ortiz

Building Manager

michael.ortiz@democracyprep.org

Jose Hernandez Arellano

Facilities Associate

Jose.hernandezarellano@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

Dr. Robert North

Chair, Harlem Hospital

Josh Pristaw

Vice Chair, GTIS Partners

Brian Berger

Treasurer, Glocap Search

Doug Snyder

Vice Chair, Starboard Value, L.P.

Roger Berg

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman

Trevor Gibbons

Prosek Partners

Sean Windsor

BDO USA, LLP

Ken Weiller

Westfield Investment LLC

Alastair Wood

Kindur

Brittany Mullings

Human Resources Business Partner, National Basketball Association

Gregory Weston

Winston & Strawn LLP

Jake Foley III

Khary Barnes

Vice Chair, American Express

Ross Frommer

Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Stephanie King

Columbia University

Farida Ilboudo

Columbia University

  Click to download BPCS Board Meeting Minutes – 2016-17
  Download Annual Report 16-17 

To contact the DPNY Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including upcoming meeting dates, click here.